If an Apple warning about a spyware attack suddenly appears on your iPhone screen, it’s not one of the many notifications you can dismiss with a wave of your finger. It must be taken seriously. Apple has in fact begun to show alerts directly on the iPhone’s lock screen to users who, according to its security systems, may have been targeted by a so-called “mercenary spyware”, i.e. extremely sophisticated spy software used to surveil specific people. The alert also appears in the phone’s Settings.
The company told TechCrunch that the latest campaign affected targeted users in 110 countries. Since 2021, when Apple began using this alert system, users in more than 150 countries have been reached.
What Apple’s warning means
Receiving this notification does not necessarily mean that someone has already broken into your iPhone. However, it means that Apple has identified activities compatible with an attempted targeted attack. And it is not the classic virus spread through thousands of emails or scam messages. So-called mercenary spyware are much more expensive and sophisticated tools, developed to target a small number of people.
What to do if the spyware alert arrives
Apple’s first recommendation is to activate Isolation Mode (Lockdown Mode), a special protection designed specifically for people exposed to highly sophisticated cyber attacks. The feature drastically reduces the so-called “attack surface”: some messaging, web browsing, calling and sharing features are limited to close some of the doors normally exploited by spyware. Apple also advises people who receive the alert to consult cybersecurity experts.